

About Jan Wagner

Jan Wagner was born 1971 in Hamburg and has been living in Berlin since 1995. He is a poet, a translator of Anglo-American poetry (Charles Simic, James Tate, Simon Armitage, Matthew Sweeney, Jo Shapcott, Robin Robertson, Michael Hamburger, Dan Chiasson and many others), a literary critic (Frankfurter Rundschau, Der Tagesspiegel and others) and has been, until 2003, a co-publisher of the international literature box Die Aussenseite des Elementes ("The Outside of the Element"). Apart from numerous appearances in anthologies and magazines, he has published the poetry collections *Probebohrung im Himmel* ("A Trial Drill in the Sky"; Berlin Verlag, Berlin 2001), Guerickes Sperling ("Guericke's Sparrow", Berlin Verlag, Berlin 2004), Achtzehn Pasteten ("Eighteen Pies", Berlin Verlag, Berlin 2007) and Australien ("Australia", Berlin Verlag, Berlin 2010) and, as translator and editor, collections of selected poems by James Tate, Der falsche Weg nach Hause ("The Wrong Way Home", Berlin Verlag, Berlin 2004), Matthew Sweeney, Rosa Milch ("Pink Milk", Berlin Verlag, Berlin 2008) and Simon Armitage ("Zoom!", 2011). With the poet Björn Kuhligk he edited the comprehensive anthologies of young German language poetry Lyrik von Jetzt. 74 Stimmen ("Poetry of Now. 74 voices", Dumont Verlag, Cologne 2003) and its sequel Lyrik von Jetzt zwei. 50 Stimmen (Berlin Verlag, Berlin 2008) and co-operated on the book Der Wald im Zimmer. Eine Harzreise ("A Forest Inside the Room. A Journey Across the Harz Mountains", Berliner Taschenbuch Verlag, Berlin 2007), an hommage to Heinrich Heine. A selection of his essays, Die Sandale des Propheten. Beiläufige Prosa ("The Prophet's Sandal. Incidental Prose"), was published 2011 by Berlin Verlag. For his poetry, which has been translated into thirty languages, he has received various scholarships (2002 in the Künstlerhaus Edenkoben, 2004 as Heinrich-Heine-resident in Lüneburg, 2008 as "writer-in-residence" at Oberlin College, Ohio/USA, and 2011 in the German Academy in Rome/Villa Massimo, among others) and literary awards, most recently the Alfred Gruber Award (2004), the Mondsee Poetry Award (2004), the Anna-Seghers-Award (2004), the Ernst-Meister-Award for Poetry (2005), the Arno-Reinfrank-Award (2006), the Wilhelm-Lehmann-Award (2009), the Friedrich-Hölderlin-Preis of the city of Tübingen (2011) and the Kranichsteiner Literaturpreis (2011).