The Maltese presidency of the Council of the EU: 1 January-30 June 2017


On January 1st 2017 Malta takes over the steering wheel for the next 6 months. The presidency will focus on 6 priorities: migration, single market, security, social inclusion, Europe's neighborhood and maritime sector.

The priorities of the Maltese presidency are driven by the objective to restore trust in the EU, need for a dialogue and reflection on the EU's future as well as the pertinent issues relating to migration, security and economy.

During the next 6 months, the presidency will focus on 6 key areas: migration, single market, security, social inclusion, Europe's neighbourhood and maritime sector.

The presidency of the Council rotates among the EU member states every 6 months. During this 6-month period, the presidency chairs meetings at every level in the Council, helping to ensure the continuity of the EU’s work in the Council.

Member states holding the presidency work together closely in groups of three, called ‘trios’. This system was introduced by the Lisbon Treaty in 2009. The trio sets long-term goals and prepares a common agenda determining the topics and major issues that will be addressed by the Council over an 18 month period. On the basis of this programme, each of the three countries prepares its own more detailed 6-month programme.

The current trio is made up of the presidencies of the Netherlands, Slovakia and Malta.


(Source: Concilium)

Illustration: Valletta